Sara’s Letter to The President

Dear President  Barack Obama,

I write to you from a high school classroom in Sarasota, FL. I know I may not be the most educated or government savvy person you’ll hear from, but I feel that my opinions and views on the country are just as important as the next persons’. I want to begin by informing you of how overjoyed I am that you were elected into the white house as our forty-fourth president. I feel that you’re not only competent and capable of taking on our country’s biggest issues, but I wholeheartedly trust you to listen to everyone’s opinions and what matters to them. So I have taken it upon myself to write to you about the things that matter most to me. I would like to tell you about my views on gay rights, abortion and ways we can help protect our environment.
The Bill of Rights states that, “Every man is given the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.” Last time I checked, every man meant every man. So why are people with a homosexual orientation partially excluded from that statement? As you know, only the state of Massachusetts allows same-sex marriage and nineteen other state have banned it all together. Yet in all states, the same rights and legal benefits offered to couples in a straight relationship are not offered to couples in a same sex relationship. I don’t understand why you should be excluded from rights to something like medical decisions over your partner or social security benefits, just because of who you are with. To me, there is no difference between loving a man or loving a woman. I just wish there were more people in America that didn’t discriminate on a daily basis. Not only does it mirror every other right we’ve had to fight for, it seems down right cruel to reject someone of having the legal rights they deserve.
As you can tell I have a very liberal point of view on things. So I’m sure you won’t be surprised when I tell you that I am pro-choice when it comes to abortion. It really bothers me when pro-life supporters claim that pro-choice means you are ‘for abortion’, when in actuality it merely means that women should have the right to choose whether or not they want an abortion. I think that if we denied women the right to have an abortion, it would completely set us back in the civil rights movement. If someone else is pregnant, with someone else’s child and they live in an entirely different community than you do, why do you have the right to tell them what they can and can’t do with their body? You honestly never know what the situation can be. What if a fourteen-year-old girl was raped? Many pro-life supporters like to say that she could keep the baby and give it up for adoption, but when you are fourteen you’re not even fully developed. So why would her body be physically capable of bearing a child? Her body could end up more damaged by going through childbirth than if she were to get an abortion. So if abortion was legalized in all fifty states, I feel that there would end up being less abortions and less deaths due to abortions in the U.S. This is because if you were given every possible right, I think there would be more thought put into the decision.
Right now it seems that everywhere you go there are green options and celebrities and spokespeople telling you about the harm you’re causing the environment. Yet day-by-day, Americans continue to throw away plastic water bottles by the millions and use up more energy than necessary. So what can you do to help encourage people to take care of their environment? I think the government should provide a better recycling program and work with manufacturers to stop producing inefficient products. Every day sixty million plastic water bottles are being thrown into landfills. Since recycling takes a lot of energy, you should encourage people to use more eco-friendly products, such as reusable bottles. You could also urge Americans to do simple things around the house to conserve energy, such as turning off lights and electronics when they aren’t being used. Or incourage the use of bicycles as a means of transportation. There are so many things that Americans can do to help our environment. We just need someone responsible to provide us with ideas. We should do everything we can to reduce waste and conserve energy if we want to take care of our planet.
I know many adults wouldn’t listen to me as I rattle off the issues that I feel need to be fixed. Yet the millions of teens growing up in America today are the future of America. We are future employers and future voters, and a few of us could be the future president. Soon enough, we are going to be living in this poor economy and having to make our own decisions. I feel that if more politicians took the time to listen to teens and younger people, they would show a greater interest in politics. Thankfully, I know you will listen to everyone’s opinion, no matter what our age. I just want you to know that even though your task at hand is daunting, millions of Americans and I believe in you and that you’ll do what’s best for our country.
Sincerely,
Sara

One response to “Sara’s Letter to The President

  1. Shelley Travis

    Sara, I just have to start off by saying you’re awesome.
    I agree with you on every viewpoint, as you already know. Though I’m not as much into the “go green” thing as you are, I agree that you might as well do what’s good for the environment.
    Your abortion view is spot-on. Unfortunately I think it’s impossible to convince someone otherwise when they are so convinced they’re right. Especially with all these different belief systems! I mean, so many people believe in fate and destiny, in a child ‘being the scientist that will cure cancer’ or other such example. Though that example is flawed because it takes an entire team of scientists just to look at cancer, not one person. But with people believing in this and that, it’s impossible to convince them that it’s not real, that things aren’t set up beforehand.
    Your gay marriage opinion also matches directly with mine! Not that that’s much of a suprise, but good job for having common sense.
    I don’t think I could’ve commented on a letter with someone who disagrees with me, it’d be a bit too dramatic and turn into more of a blood bath than a debate, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

