Breana on FCAT

Dear President Obama,

I would like to take a moment to bring up the issue of FCAT. People in Florida take the FCAT and lots and many fail of other kinds of tests. A lot of students fail because we are put under so much pressure and we break down and fail I don’t see the point.

First, I would like to ask what is the point of FCAT? I think its just another test for us to take I think we take enough tests during the regular school year that’s making more stress for us. See, when we take other tests through out the year it’s not such a big deal because we have time to prepare and it is only on one or two things at a time. With FCAT we have to try and remember all the things that we learn. Another point I would like to make is the teachers do not have time to teach us everything we need to know to prepare us for FCAT because we have to jam as much information in a few months.

Next I would like to talk about the fact that they keep students back in third grade if they don’t pass the FCAT. My little brother is in third grade and he passes all his tests that he is given but he was held back because of FCAT. He passed with very good grades but that test kept him from going on and now he feels he is not as smart as he thought and tests should not do that. There are a lot of children I know that had to stay back because they failed the Fcat and they are the most wonderful and smartest kids I know. I feel it is wrong for them to have to repeat the same grade over again for no reason.

To conclude my letter to you Mr. President I think you should stop FCAT because lots of smart children are being held back in their grade for no reason and, really, I don’t see the point in taking that test that we are barely prepared for.

Leave a Reply

