My Letter to President Obama

Dear Mr. Obama,

I first off want to congratulate you on your presidency. I hope that you will make this country a better place to live. There are many things that I think we can fix. Some topics that I would like to inform you on are the No Child Left Behind law, the Iraq War on terror, and illegal immigration.


The No Child Left Behind Law is a good idea. I think that this law makes all children go through school and get a good education. There are some problems with this law, though. Many schools do not meet the standards. In Florida, nobody did. That’s 67 school districts that did not make the cut. Statewide we are in need of improvement. I believe you can help. I personally think that if we had more money for the schools, we can do some much more. Having the resources that we need would make kids want to learn and be interested in expanding their education.

Secondly I would like to know why we are still over seas. What is the overall purpose over there? Were they trying to pull away families and leave people heartbroken? I would also like to know when we are leaving. You need to make it known to the public what is happening. People need the truth and not lies. I believe you can supply the people with that. What if this was to happen again? We went over seas when September 11th happened and what if someone attacks us again? I understand we are protecting yourselves form but this is ruining the United States of America’s reputation.

Lastly I believe that we have too many illegal immigrants in this county. To stop that, we could have better border control between here and Mexico. I live in Florida and I don’t think that it’s right, that if Cubans make it to land they can stay. It’s wrong. I am not a racist or anything, but I think the illegal immigrants are taking our jobs. I believe they are people too but if they can’t prove they were born here or legally came, I don’t think they should be able to have high paying jobs. I am going to school to become a forensic scientist and if an illegal immigrant took my job I would be livid. Would you want an illegal immigrant to be in your shoes?

Thank you for spending the time to read my concerns. I really do appreciate that! I would really hope that you consider these topics to explore and refine; the No Child Left Behind law, the War, and illegal immigrants.

Your Citizen,

Renae

Sarasota Florida

Booker High School

Leave a Reply

