Breanna’s Letter to the President

Dear Mr. Obama,

My name is Breanna  and I am a freshman at Booker High School in Sarasota Florida. Although I am not yet of voting age, I will be affected in the future by your decisions today. My opinions do matter and I believe there are a few issues you should take into consideration.


First and foremost, I believe that abortions should be illegal. Although teen pregnancy rates are increasing, there are other options than abortion. If abortion is not illegal, I think it should then be limited to the number of ties one person should be able to receive this operation. One time is a mistake, but more than that cannot be acceptable. I also believe that daycare should receive more money from the government. For many children, this is the starting point of their education. More and more children are being born and entering head start and these daycare should receive money from the government for their upkeep.

There should be more attention to our public schools. I strongly believe that teachers are underpaid. Most students learn everything they know from teachers, not just about school, but also about life. They spend most of their day showing affection to students, and I don’t think that they receive enough money for this. Another opinion of mine is that all states should require mandatory attendance in school until the age of 18. This will keep younger children in school, with something to do. It seems that some students tend to create trouble during times of boredom. With them at school, there will be even less time for this to happen. The U.S. is ranked below average than other developed countries when it comes to math and science, so I believe students should be in school as required being prepared for the world.

The last issue I find most important is health. People in the U.S. spend more money on health care than any other nation in the world. I think standard health care should be provided FREE for anyone in our country, especially for all children. Many people cannot afford procedures that are a necessity for life and I believe that if they can’t, they shouldn’t have to pay.

There are many issues that need to be addressed in our nation and I only chose to bring light to a few. I realize that being the president of the United States is a tedious task, and with you just beginning, it could be overwhelming. I know that many of theses issues can’t be seen to overnight. With a little time though, you and our nation together can make the world a better place.

One response to “Breanna’s Letter to the President

  1. Cherlinda Polynice

    Breanna, I agree with you when it comes to the part about teachers being underpaid and the mandatory attendance. It just makes sense to do it this way, then kids would get in less trouble if they barely had the time to make trouble. As for the teachers being underpaid, I believe that there’d be way more teachers lining up if they salary was a bit bigger and better. I have read the part you wrote on abortions and health and they are important too, but as of right now I think the school issue is the most important.

Leave a Reply

