Zana Has Some Concerns

Dear President Obama,

My name is Zana  and I am a 9th Grade student at Booker High School of Sarasota, Florida. I would like to congratulate you in becoming the next president of the United States. There are several things that have been on my mind that I would like to address with you. First, what are your views on the increase of college tuition? Second, I would like to know your plans about bringing our country out of so much debt? Last, how does it feel to be the first African American president of the United States of America?


Every year I hear the college tuition is increasing and I always wonder what the cause is. I would like to go to college on a scholarship, but if that doesn’t happen, I don’t know if my parents will be able to afford to send me to college. Some under privilege kids would probably want the opportunity to go to college and they can’t because their parents won’t be able to afford to pay for it. I think that tuition should be lowered enough so that those students and many others can go to college. What are your views on the increase of college tuition and do you think that it would be leveling out any time soon?

From what I see on television, it appears to me that the United States is billions of dollars in debt. Could you please explain to me what your plans are to bring us out of this crisis? With the current problems with the economy, I have noticed that people are loosing their homes, jobs, and businesses. I think something needs to be done about this because many of my family and friends are experiencing this problem. I don’t want this to happen to me once I finally get my first job or any other job after that. How do we ease the concerns if the American citizens with this current crisis?

I am so glad that you had the courage to run for president. How does it feel to be the first African American President? Other than what I have expressed earlier, such as, the increase of college tuition, your plans on bringing our country out of so much debt, and how it feels to be the first African American President of the United States of America, what other plans do you have for your term in office?

In closing, you have read the issues that are of concern to me and I hope you will be able to provide me with some kind of solution. Thank you for this opportunity and once again congratulations on your recent appointment to office.

Sincerely,

Zana

One response to “Zana Has Some Concerns

  1. Zana, you have some very good ideas and points represented in your letter. You had some very strong opinons on our nations debt and newer options to pay for college tuitions, that I most definitely agree with. Good job, you had done some research and looks like you know your stuff! Good Job! 😀

Leave a Reply

